2016 Gala Presentation and Awards Dinner

2016 Gala Presentation and Awards Dinner

Oh what a night!….

By Victoria Hughes

What a fantastic night of celebrating success! The Stone Master Marathoners Gala Presentation Night was organised by our lovely ladies, Social Secretary Julie Ebrey and ably assisted by Michelle Miles.

The venue : The Upper House, Barlaston, a welcome glass of fizz on arrival and a delicious 3 course meal. We were barely recognisable on this Lycra free evening and our hair let down although I think most of the ladies would have swapped their heels for their trainers by the end of the night!

Our host, Chairman Tim Hulse, provided the perfect entertainment complete with aptly red coloured bow tie and witty repertoire. Our special guests were North Staffs Road Runners Association Director Ken Rushton and his lovely wife and Assistant, Sue Rushton. Ken was recognised for his ‘outstanding contribution to running’. Amy Gamble spoke of his running career and the huge amount of time and effort he dedicates to the sport of running in North Staffordshire. Stone Master Marathoners is hugely thankful for everything Ken has done for our club and the local running community as a whole.

Stone Master Marathoners welcomes all runners of all abilities and goals and this is reflected in the recognition and awards. It doesn’t matter how long you have been with the club, there was recognition for all abilities, from beginners to veteran runners, from supporters to marathon runners. It was an Oscar night for runners, with awards for outstanding contribution as well as special awards for ‘Club Person of the Year’ and ‘Runner of the Year’….extra special because our Bats had all been given the opportunity to nominate fellow club members for the two awards.

Such a great way to celebrate another year of successes for Stone Master Marathoners. Well done to everyone and here’s to another great year of running, having fun and being inspired to #makeadifference to our great and ever-growing running club.

This year’s winners:

Ladies Champion – 1st 2016;   Amy Gamble
Ladies Champion – 2nd 2016;   Anne-Marie Mountford
Ladies Champion – 3rd 2016;   Sam Hodgkinson
Men’s Champion – 1st 2016;   Paul Swan
Men’s Champion – 2nd 2016;   Tim Hulse
Men’s Champion – 3rd 2016;   Paul Phillips
Beginner of the Year 2016;   Tracy Triner
Supporter of the Year 2016;   Joyce Dutton
Veteran Lady 2016;   Pam Davies
Veteran Man 2016;   Kevin Uzzell
Marathon Lady 2016;   Angela Mensing
Marathon Man 2016;   Steve Fenney
Vernon Olivant Outstanding Achievement 2016;   Kathryn Ambrose
Most Improved Lady 2016;   Bonnie Seabridge
Most Improved Man 2016;   Paul Phillips
NSRRA Lady 2016;   Amy Gamble
NSRRA Man 2016;   Paul Phillips
Newcomer of the Year 2016;   Jo Bentley
Cross Country Lady 2016;   Victoria Hughes
Cross Country Man 2016;   Tom Wilson
Chairman’s Trophy 2016;   Brian Hall
Captain’s Trophy 2016;   Emma Dutton
Outstanding Contribution to Running 2016;   Ken Ruston
Club Person of the Year 2016;   Emma Dutton
Runner of the Year 2016;   Kirsty Stephenson